Recent News

Tuesday, November 10, 2020 2:00 pm

Election results are in for our 2021 Directors!

Congratulations to our newly elected Directors whose terms will begin Jan. 1, 2021. 

REALTOR® Directors (2021-2023)


Benjamin Hemmert - HER, Realtors®

BENJAMIN HEMMERT started with HER, Realtors® in 2002 and was named Partner in 2013. Ben's business is 98% referral and repeat customers. His leadership within Columbus REALTORS® includes chair of Government Affairs, co-chair of REALTOR® Care Day and YPN, and Leadership Academy graduate. Other recognitions: Business First's Forty Under 40, Columbus' Representative for Tomorrow's Leaders Today, and the BIA Marketing and Merchandising Excellence Awards. Ben volunteers with many organizations, including LifeCare Alliance, Meals on Wheels and board member for the Thanks for Giving Four Miler. He currently lives in New Albany with wife Audra and daughters Lillian and Kate.


Lari Madosky Shaw - Coldwell Banker King Thompson

LARI MADOSKY SHAW, CRS, ABR, PMN, REALTOR since 1996 with Coldwell Banker King Thompson, has served on numerous elected and appointed boards, committees and task forces including Ohio REALTORS Board of Directors, Columbus REALTORS Foundation Fund Advisory Board, CEO evaluation task force, Women's Council of REALTORS Past President, and most every committee of Columbus REALTORS. Lari is a recipient of the Columbus Realtors Lifetime Achievement Award and a member of every volume sales award category. Lari is married to Travis Shaw of HER REALTORS with two children, they are active members of Liberty Barn church, and avid triathletes.

Vanessa Simmons - Coldwell Banker King Thompson

VANESSA V. SIMMONS became a licensed REALTOR® in 2005. She spent her first 9 years running a successful real estate business with HER Realtors. In 2013 she transferred to Coldwell Banker King Thompson and after working as an agent transitioned to management in 2015. Vanessa successfully grew the ICAs from 36-91 agents. Vanessa served for 5 years on the Affordable Housing Committee. In 2019 she joined the Diversity and Inclusion Committee. In 2020 she served as co-chair for the Diversity and Inclusion Committee. Vanessa has earned her one and five million dollar sales awards and a Presidents Sales Club Award from Ohio REALTORS®. Today as a non-competing manager, she focuses on training and supporting the agents and staff in her office. Vanessa is an active member of Columbus Realtist and will serve as their 2021 Education Committee Chairperson.


Shaun Simpson - Cutler Real Estate

SHAUN SIMPSON had the honor of serving Columbus REALTORS® as the president's appointee to the board of directors in 2020 and has served as the chair of REALTOR® Care Day, CORPAC governing board and CORPAC fundraising committee. With Ohio REALTORS® Shaun, along with being a member of numerous committees, will chair the Professional Development Committee in 2021 (2020 vice-chair) and is a graduate of the Leadership Academy (2019). Shaun has his undergraduate in Real Estate and Finance from the University of Cincinnati, MBA from Franklin University and is a commissioner for the City of Powell Planning and Zoning Commission.


affiliate Director (2021-2022)


Emily Owens​ - Search2Close

EMILY OWENS, Esq. is Corporate Counsel at Search2Close Title Company. Admitted to the Ohio Bar in 2014, Emily began her role with Search2Close in 2015 and has been an active member of the Standard Forms Committee for the past five years. Emily has also served as a volunteer and coordinator for Realtor Care Day and is a member of the Midtown Area Real Estate Association. Emily frequently coordinates with the REALTOR® community to teach continuing education courses to agents. She is also a member of the Columbus Bar Association Real Property Committee and Women Lawyers of Franklin County.


Find us on social media

Back to top